Mark Colbert http://wutc.org en Chattanooga Ambassador Program Helps At-Risk Kids Stay in School http://wutc.org/post/chattanooga-ambassador-program-helps-risk-kids-stay-school <p> Chattanooga's Department of Youth and Family Development is working with at-risk kids by using a holistic approach to keep them in school.&nbsp; City Administrator Lurone "Coach" Jennings discusses the Chattanooga Ambassador Program.</p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 14:57:44 +0000 Mark Colbert 40335 at http://wutc.org 'From the Earth' Opens in April at Reflections Gallery http://wutc.org/post/earth-opens-april-reflections-gallery <p><a href="http://www.earthday.org/greencities/earth-day-2014/">Earth Day</a> is coming up in April, and <a href="http://reflectionsgallerytn.com/">Reflections Gallery</a> is celebrating with an exhibit titled <em>From the Earth</em>, which will be on display in April and May.&nbsp; In this segment, WUTC's Mark Colbert speaks with Loren Howard, a potter/sculptor participating in the exhibit.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 20:22:23 +0000 Mark Colbert 35387 at http://wutc.org East Brainerd 'Backlot' Provides Meeting Space, Networking for Filmmakers http://wutc.org/post/east-brainerd-backlot-provides-meeting-space-networking-filmmakers <p> Do you dream about being on stage, or in front of a camera?&nbsp;&nbsp; What about being involved with sound or lighting aspects of a film?</p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 18:54:00 +0000 Mark Colbert 35013 at http://wutc.org 'Live Well with a Better Memory' Event Coming up 3/25 http://wutc.org/post/live-well-better-memory-event-coming-325 <p>Tracy Dougherty, speech language pathologist, will teach simple strategies to assist with memory in everyday life on 3/25 at 5:30 p.m. at <a href="http://www.lcca.com/280/">Life Care Center of Hixson.</a>&nbsp; RSVPs are requested.&nbsp; The event &amp; dinner are free.</p><p>WUTC's Mark Colbert has this conversation with Dougherty.</p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 15:10:28 +0000 Mark Colbert 34902 at http://wutc.org Southeast Youth Corps Hosts Golden Cairn Awards 4/3 http://wutc.org/post/southeast-youth-corps-hosts-golden-cairn-awards-43 <p> The <a href="http://www.southeastyc.org/">Southeast Youth Corps</a> will host the <a href="http://www.southeastyc.org/goldencairnawards/">2014 Louis Ross Golden Cairn Awards </a>on Thursday, April 3rd.&nbsp; WUTC's Mark Colbert speaks with Corps members about the event.</p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 15:27:25 +0000 Mark Colbert 34643 at http://wutc.org Tennessee Suicide Prevention Network Offering Training Seminar 3/6 http://wutc.org/post/tennessee-suicide-prevention-network-offering-training-seminar-36 <p></p><p>There is no typical suicide victim.&nbsp; No age group, ethnicity or background is immune.&nbsp; But some troubled individuals display behaviors, either deliberately or inadvertently, that signal their suicide intent, and help is available.&nbsp; The <a href="http://tspn.org/">Tennessee Suicide Prevention Network</a> is offering a suicide prevention training seminar for mental health and substance abuse workers on Thursday, March 6<sup>th</sup>, and the seminar is open to the general public.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 21:24:21 +0000 Mark Colbert 34420 at http://wutc.org Junior League of Chattanooga Hosts 'Clean Sweep' Fundraiser 3/15 http://wutc.org/post/junior-league-chattanooga-hosts-clean-sweep-fundraiser-315 <p>WUTC's Mark Colbert interviews<a href="http://www.jlchatt.org/"> Junior League of Chattanooga</a> members about their upcoming rummage-sale fundraiser on 3/15, which begins at 7:30 a.m. at Office Furniture Warehouse, located at 2700 Riverside Drive, Chattanooga, TN 37406.&nbsp; The sale lasts until 4 p.m.</p><p>From a media release:</p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 18:47:15 +0000 Mark Colbert 34323 at http://wutc.org Hunter Museum Features 'African American Art: Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights Era, and Beyond' http://wutc.org/post/hunter-museum-features-african-american-art-harlem-renaissance-civil-rights-era-and-beyond <p>Chattanooga' Hunter Museum of American Art currently <a href="http://www.huntermuseum.org/upcoming-exhibitions/african-american-art-harlem-renaissance-civil-rights-era-and.html?SSScrollPosition=11">features an exhibition of 20th-century African-American art</a>, with works from 43 black artists.</p><p>From a media release:</p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 17:10:50 +0000 Mark Colbert 34241 at http://wutc.org UTC Hosts Marian Anderson String Quartet, Composer Forum 2/20 - 2/22 http://wutc.org/post/utc-hosts-marian-anderson-string-quartet-composer-forum-220-222 <p> Dr. Jonathan McNair discusses the <a href="http://southeasterncomposersleague.org/forum/">Southeastern Composers League Forum</a> coming up at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.</p><p>From a media release:</p> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 19:27:00 +0000 Mark Colbert 33810 at http://wutc.org Chattanooga in Top 4 Runner-Friendly Cities http://wutc.org/post/chattanooga-top-4-runner-friendly-cities <p> WUTC's Mark Colbert finds out why the <a href="http://www.rrca.org/">Road Runners Club of America</a> named Chattanooga as one of the <a href="http://www.rrca.org/services/news-entry/rrca-designates-2013-runner-friendly-communities/">four best cities</a> for putting on a pair of track shoes and hitting the pavement.</p> Fri, 07 Feb 2014 17:44:15 +0000 Mark Colbert 33381 at http://wutc.org Pet Emergency? There's An App For That http://wutc.org/post/pet-emergency-theres-app <p>The American Red Cross has created a pet first-aid app.</p><p>WUTC's Mark Colbert speaks with Greg Waite, Community Chapter Executive for the <a href="http://www.redcross.org/tn/chattanooga">American Red Cross of Southeast Tennessee</a>, about their new smartphone app that can provide vital information during pet emergencies.</p><p></p><p>From a media release:</p> Wed, 22 Jan 2014 19:34:55 +0000 Mark Colbert 32728 at http://wutc.org Pet Emergency? There's An App For That TN Aquarium's Twist on 12 Days of Christmas: 'Yuletide Fishtivities' Starts 12/26 http://wutc.org/post/tn-aquariums-twist-12-days-christmas-yuletide-fishtivities-starts-1226 <p>The Tennessee Aquarium's <a href="http://www.tnaqua.org/news/newsreleases/13-12-10/Yuletide_Fishtivities_at_the_Tennessee_Aquarium.aspx">Yuletide Fishtivities</a> begin after the Christmas holiday and last until January 6th.&nbsp; WUTC's Mark Colbert reports.</p> Wed, 18 Dec 2013 17:46:05 +0000 Mark Colbert 31457 at http://wutc.org River Gorge Explorer's Winter Wildlife Cruise Launches 12/28 http://wutc.org/post/river-gorge-explorers-winter-wildlife-cruise-launches-1228 <p>The <a href="http://www.tnaqua.org/RiverGorgeExplorer/BoatSchedule.aspx">cruise</a> will provide passengers a chance to see Bald Eagles in East Tennessee.&nbsp; WUTC's Mark Colbert speaks with the captain of the <a href="http://www.tnaqua.org/RiverGorgeExplorer/RiverGorgeExplorer.aspx">River Gorge Explorer. </a></p> Mon, 16 Dec 2013 16:36:39 +0000 Mark Colbert 31354 at http://wutc.org Tennessee Chamber Chorus Performing 'A Ceremony of Carols' December 15, 16 & 17 http://wutc.org/post/tennessee-chamber-chorus-performing-ceremony-carols-december-15-16-17 <p>WUTC's Mark Colbert speaks with Dr. Cameron LaBarr, founder and Artistic Director of the <a href="http://www.tennesseechamberchorus.org/">Tennessee Chamber Chorus,</a> as well as Caitlin Hammond, a vocalist.&nbsp; The chorus, comprised of professional singers, will perform<a href="http://www.tennesseechamberchorus.org/tickets.html"> A Ceremony of Carols</a> at several different East Tennessee locations on December 15th, 16th and 17th.</p><p></p> Wed, 11 Dec 2013 16:15:15 +0000 Mark Colbert 31154 at http://wutc.org Need A Career Change? Project Inspire Offers Teaching Opportunities http://wutc.org/post/need-career-change-project-inspire-offers-teaching-opportunities <p>In this interview, WUTC’s Mark Colbert speaks with Mark Neil, director of<a href="http://projectinspiretn.org/"> Project Inspire,</a> a program designed to quickly train new science and math teachers and put them into Hamilton County classrooms.</p><p>Project Inspire has <a href="http://projectinspiretn.org/apply-now/">recruitment events coming up on December 17<sup>th</sup> and 19<sup>th</sup>.</a></p> Wed, 04 Dec 2013 22:46:22 +0000 Mark Colbert 30876 at http://wutc.org