Happenings http://wutc.org en Baseball Opera 'The Mighty Casey' Coming To Engel Stadium 4/24, 4/26 http://wutc.org/post/baseball-opera-mighty-casey-coming-engel-stadium-424-426 <p> From a media release:</p><p>The Chattanooga-based grassroots operatic group, Artisti Affamati, will be presenting the opera, <strong><em>The Mighty Casey</em></strong><em>,</em> at historic Engel Stadium in April 2014.&nbsp; Professional local singers, musicians, directors, and and crew are coming together to present William Schuman’s operatic adaptation of the classic baseball poem “Casey at the Bat”.</p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 14:18:25 +0000 Michael Edward Miller 36554 at http://wutc.org Parkridge Hosts Wine and Pearls Benefit April 25 http://wutc.org/post/parkridge-hosts-wine-and-pearls-benefit-april-25 <p>From a media release:</p><p style="margin-left:1.0in;">Parkridge Medical Center is proud to present Wine &amp; Pearls 2014, a benefit for PearlPoint Cancer Support, on April 25 from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. at the Hunter Museum of American Art. Funds raised at this event will provide vital personalized guidance, support, and information to Chattanooga-area adults navigating the journey through cancer diagnoses and treatments.</p><p style="margin-left:1.0in;">&nbsp;</p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 14:11:16 +0000 Michael Edward Miller 36553 at http://wutc.org Brainerd Farmers Market Season Opens 5/3 http://wutc.org/post/brainerd-farmers-market-season-opens-53 <p>From a media release:</p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 15:47:28 +0000 Staff 36503 at http://wutc.org Historian Mark Waters Uncovers Stolen Gold from the Civil War http://wutc.org/post/historian-mark-waters-uncovers-stolen-gold-civil-war <p>From a media release:</p><p>In 1865, the equivalent of 3.6 Million dollars of Civil War Confederate gold was stolen and is, to this day, unaccounted for. Join historian, author, and speaker Mark Waters as he shares this fascinating story of mystery and missing gold at the Museum Center at 5ive Points on Thursday, April 24, 2014 at 6pm. This event is free for Museum members and regular admission applies for non-members.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 15:45:25 +0000 Staff 36502 at http://wutc.org Junior League Of Chattanooga Announces 'Kids In The Kitchen' 5/3 http://wutc.org/post/junior-league-chattanooga-announces-kids-kitchen-53 <p>From a media release:</p><h1 align="center">More Than 200 Leagues Unite to Educate Children on Importance of Eating Well and Staying Healthy as Part of Junior Leagues’ Kids in the Kitchen Activities</h1><p></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 16:42:44 +0000 Staff 36296 at http://wutc.org HES Provides Low-Cost Rabies Vaccination Clinics in April http://wutc.org/post/hes-provides-low-cost-rabies-vaccination-clinics-april <p>From a media release:</p><table align="center" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" style="width:100.0%;" width="100%"><tbody><tr><td><p align="center"><strong>HAMILTON COUNTY </strong></p><p align="center"><strong>LOW COST</strong></p><p align="center"><strong>RABIES VACCINATION CLINICS&nbsp;</strong></p><p align="center"><strong>FOR DOGS &amp; CATS </strong></p><p align="center">&nbsp;</p><p align="center"><strong>THIS MONTH!!!&nbsp;</strong></p><p align="center">&nbsp;</p><p align="center"><strong><em>click for</em></strong></p><p align="center">&nbsp;</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 16:39:01 +0000 Staff 36295 at http://wutc.org 'Muscle Shoals' Premieres On PBS 4/21 http://wutc.org/post/muscle-shoals-premieres-pbs-421 <p>From a media release:</p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 17:08:37 +0000 Staff 36197 at http://wutc.org UTC Conference Addresses Youth Sports Injuries http://wutc.org/post/utc-conference-addresses-youth-sports-injuries <p>Media reports have helped raise awareness among the American public to health-related issues in sports, such as the long-term effects of concussion, the potential for catastrophic events, the disabling impact of ACL injuries, and the adequacy of existing safeguards.&nbsp;</p><p>The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga; the University of Tennessee College of Medicine, Chattanooga; Erlanger Health System, and the National Athletic Training Association host “The Sports Injury Epidemic,” a national two-day conference of vital importance to your youth.</p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 23:46:03 +0000 Staff 36068 at http://wutc.org McKamey Animal Center Announces New Hours http://wutc.org/post/mckamey-animal-center-announces-new-hours <p>Adoptions:<br />Tuesdays - Saturdays 11am - 7pm<br />Sundays 1 - 5pm<br />Closed Mondays</p><p><br />Admissions:<br />Tuesdays - Saturdays 10am - 6pm<br />Closed Mondays<br />&nbsp;<br />Spay/Neuter Surgeries:<br />Wednesdays - Fridays<br />Drop off between 7:30 - 8:30am<br /><br />&nbsp;</p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 16:19:08 +0000 Staff 35825 at http://wutc.org UTC Music Department Presents “Catch the Groove” Percussion Ensemble 4/14 http://wutc.org/post/utc-music-department-presents-catch-groove-percussion-ensemble-414 <p>The UTC Music Department is pleased to present “Catch the Groove”, directed by Monte Coulter. This traditional spring concert will take place at the UTC Fine Arts Center, Roland Hayes Concert Hall, 752 Vine St., Chattanooga, on April 14, 2014 at 7:30 p.m., and will consist of some works which are totally new to the area and others which are more established in the percussion ensemble idiom. This one-night-only program is free, and the public is invited.</p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 16:14:32 +0000 Staff 35824 at http://wutc.org Apothecary Hosts UTC Student Art Show http://wutc.org/post/apothecary-hosts-utc-student-art-show <p><em><strong>Collaboration on Mapping: Space, Self, and Surrounding </strong></em>features the work of 48 first-year art students in Drawing II classes at the University of Tennessee-Chattanooga. The exhibition includes large-scale collaborative drawings created by students working in teams, as well as independent individual projects taking mapping as a central theme.</p><p>An opening reception will be held Thursday, April 17, at 6:00 p.m. at The Apothecary,&nbsp; 744 McCallie Ave., Chattanooga, TN 37403.</p><p></p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 16:11:52 +0000 Staff 35823 at http://wutc.org Exhibition of Hand-Made Artists' Books Opens at Hunter Museum http://wutc.org/post/exhibition-hand-made-artists-books-opens-hunter-museum <p>An exhibition opening 3/28 at the <a href="http://www.huntermuseum.org/preface-an-introduction-to-artists-books/">Hunter Museum of American Art</a> features 12 hand-made books from artists interested in re-inventing the book. WUTC's Richard Winham talked to Ellen Simak, the curator for the exhibition, who makes books herself.&nbsp; The exhibition will be on display at the Hunter until June 14, 2014.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:24:36 +0000 Richard Winham 35434 at http://wutc.org 'From the Earth' Opens in April at Reflections Gallery http://wutc.org/post/earth-opens-april-reflections-gallery <p><a href="http://www.earthday.org/greencities/earth-day-2014/">Earth Day</a> is coming up in April, and <a href="http://reflectionsgallerytn.com/">Reflections Gallery</a> is celebrating with an exhibit titled <em>From the Earth</em>, which will be on display in April and May.&nbsp; In this segment, WUTC's Mark Colbert speaks with Loren Howard, a potter/sculptor participating in the exhibit.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 20:22:23 +0000 Mark Colbert 35387 at http://wutc.org BRA-VO! Fashion Show 4/6 Celebrates Life After Breast Cancer http://wutc.org/post/bra-vo-fashion-show-46-celebrates-life-after-breast-cancer <p>WUTC's Virginia Daniels speaks with Tonya Gentry about upcoming fashion show for breast cancer survivors, BRA-VO!&nbsp; All the models in the show are breast cancer survivors.</p><p>From a media release:</p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 20:05:55 +0000 Virginia Daniels 35386 at http://wutc.org Meet Storybook Characters at Rock City Gardens During Fairytale Nights http://wutc.org/post/meet-storybook-characters-rock-city-gardens-during-fairytale-nights <p>Fairytale Nights is an inaugural event at <a href="http://seerockcity.com/" target="_blank">Rock City Gardens</a> that features favorite characters from Fairytales and runs nightly from March 28 to April 20.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 15:10:02 +0000 Rabbit Zielke 35370 at http://wutc.org Meet Storybook Characters at Rock City Gardens During Fairytale Nights