Joe Palca http://wutc.org en The Scientist Who Makes Stars On Earth http://wutc.org/post/scientist-who-makes-stars-earth Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>On the outskirts of Albuquerque, New Mexico, scientists are doing something astonishing. They're creating a white dwarf star - not a whole star but enough of one to study in minute detail. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 21:02:00 +0000 Joe Palca 34471 at http://wutc.org To Clean Drinking Water, All You Need Is A Stick http://wutc.org/post/clean-drinking-water-all-you-need-stick Removing all the dangerous bacteria from drinking water would have enormous health benefits for people around the world.<p>The technologies exist for doing that, but there's a problem: cost.<p>Now a scientist at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology thinks he's on to a much less expensive way to clean up water.<p>MIT's <a href="http://meche.mit.edu/people/?id=279">Rohit Karnik</a> is a mechanical engineer who works on water technologies. He says it's relatively easy to make membranes that can filter the bacteria out of water. Wed, 05 Mar 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Joe Palca 34421 at http://wutc.org To Clean Drinking Water, All You Need Is A Stick Inexpensive Aquarium Bubbler Saves Preemies' Lives http://wutc.org/post/inexpensive-aquarium-bubbler-saves-preemies-lives <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B0rGMRdZiOY</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 19:33:00 +0000 Joe Palca 33201 at http://wutc.org Inexpensive Aquarium Bubbler Saves Preemies' Lives Scientists Come Close To Finding True Magnetic Monopole http://wutc.org/post/scientists-come-close-finding-true-magnetic-monopole Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Scientists may have filled in a gap in one the fundamental theories of physics. We've always been told that magnets have two poles, north and south. But theory suggests there should be something called a magnetic monopole, a magnet that has either a north pole or a south pole but not both of them. So far no one has found this elusive magnetic monopole.<p>As part of his project, Joe's Big Idea, NPR's Joe Palca brings us the story of scientists at Amherst College in Massachusetts. They have created a synthetic magnetic monopole. Fri, 31 Jan 2014 10:04:00 +0000 Joe Palca 33093 at http://wutc.org Saving Babies' Lives Starts With Aquarium Pumps And Ingenuity http://wutc.org/post/saving-babies-lives-starts-aquarium-pumps-and-ingenuity <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B0rGMRdZiOY</p> Sat, 04 Jan 2014 13:19:00 +0000 Joe Palca 32065 at http://wutc.org Saving Babies' Lives Starts With Aquarium Pumps And Ingenuity 'The Coolest Thing Ever': How A Robotic Arm Changed 4 Lives http://wutc.org/post/coolest-thing-ever-how-robotic-arm-changed-4-lives <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N1jbEvhFzQM</p> Thu, 28 Nov 2013 08:05:00 +0000 Joe Palca 30623 at http://wutc.org 'The Coolest Thing Ever': How A Robotic Arm Changed 4 Lives How Pictures Of Infant Boy's Eyes Helped Diagnose Cancer http://wutc.org/post/how-pictures-infant-boys-eyes-helped-diagnose-cancer Bryan Shaw never expected to write a research paper about a rare eye cancer.<p>He's a <a href="http://www.baylor.edu/chemistry/index.php?id=75907">chemist</a> who works on how <a href="http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24066782">metals and proteins interact</a>. But life has a funny way of interrupting the best-laid plans, and now Shaw may be on to a powerful new way to detect <a href="http://www.nei.nih.gov/health/retinoblastoma/blastoma.asp">retinoblastoma</a> in newborns. Wed, 06 Nov 2013 15:48:00 +0000 Joe Palca 29708 at http://wutc.org How Pictures Of Infant Boy's Eyes Helped Diagnose Cancer Jupiter Or Bust, But First A Quick Fly-By Of Home http://wutc.org/post/jupiter-or-bust-first-quick-fly-home After traveling for more than two years and some 1 billion miles, NASA's Juno mission to Jupiter is back where it started. Almost. At 3:21 p.m. ET Wednesday, the Juno space probe will be 347 miles away from Earth, just above the southern tip of Africa.<p>(As an aside, at around 11:30 a.m. ET, it was more than 90,000 miles away.)<p>It's not that Juno got homesick — the return to Earth was a necessity. To send it on a direct path to Jupiter would have required a more powerful rocket than the United Launch Alliance Atlas V-551. Wed, 09 Oct 2013 17:30:00 +0000 Joe Palca 28498 at http://wutc.org Jupiter Or Bust, But First A Quick Fly-By Of Home Treating Kids' Cancer With Science And A Pocket Full Of Hope http://wutc.org/post/treating-kids-cancer-science-and-pocket-full-hope Try to imagine someone who is supremely calm while at the same time bursting with energy, and you've got a pretty good idea of what <a href="https://www.fhcrc.org/en/diseases/featured-researchers/olson-jim.html">Jim Olson</a> is like.<p>He's a cancer researcher, physician, cyclist, kayaker and cook, not always in that order. Fri, 13 Sep 2013 07:03:00 +0000 Joe Palca 27351 at http://wutc.org Treating Kids' Cancer With Science And A Pocket Full Of Hope Why Painting Tumors Could Make Brain Surgeons Better http://wutc.org/post/why-painting-tumors-could-make-brain-surgeons-bette Perhaps one of the most uncomfortable things a doctor has to tell patients is that their medical problems are iatrogenic. What that means is they were caused by a doctor in the course of the treatment.<p>Sometime these iatrogenic injuries are accidental. But sometimes, because of the limits of medical technology, they can be inevitable. Thu, 12 Sep 2013 07:45:00 +0000 Joe Palca 27294 at http://wutc.org Why Painting Tumors Could Make Brain Surgeons Better Coronal Holes: The (Rarely Round) Gaps In The Sun's Atmosphere http://wutc.org/post/coronal-holes-rarely-round-gaps-suns-atmosphere There's a hole in the sun's corona. But don't worry — that happens from time to time.<p>"A coronal hole is just a big, dark blotch that we see on the sun in our images," says <a href="http://sdo.gsfc.nasa.gov/mission/team/team_pesnell.php">Dean Pesnell</a>, project scientist for NASA's <a href="http://sdo.gsfc.nasa.gov/mission/team/team_pesnell.php">Solar Dynamics Observatory</a>. "We can only see them from space, because when we look at them [through] a regular telescope, they don't appear."<p>That's because you have to look at wavelengths of light that the human eye can't see. Thu, 05 Sep 2013 19:38:00 +0000 Joe Palca 27020 at http://wutc.org Coronal Holes: The (Rarely Round) Gaps In The Sun's Atmosphere The Inside Story On The Fear Of Holes http://wutc.org/post/inside-story-fear-holes Trypophobia may be moving out of the urban dictionary and into the <a href="http://pss.sagepub.com/content/early/2013/08/23/0956797613484937.abstract">scientific literature</a>.<p>A recent study in the peer-review journal <em>Psychological Science</em> takes a first crack at explaining why some people may suffer from a fear of holes.<p>Trypophobia may be hard to find in textbooks and diagnostic manuals, but a brief Web search will show that plenty of people appear to have it.<p>There's even a website, <a href="http://trypophobia.com/">trypophobia.com</a>, that explains the problem like this:<p Wed, 04 Sep 2013 19:45:00 +0000 Joe Palca 26964 at http://wutc.org The Inside Story On The Fear Of Holes Black Holes One Of Space's Great Paradoxes http://wutc.org/post/black-holes-one-spaces-great-paradoxes Late summer tends to be a slow month for news. But at All Things Considered, we put on a two hour program, no matter what. So — without a trace of irony — one of our science correspondents offered to help fill some holes in the show with a series of stories about holes. In this edition: Black holes. Wed, 07 Aug 2013 20:31:00 +0000 Joe Palca 25729 at http://wutc.org A Year On Mars: What's Curiosity Been Up To? http://wutc.org/post/year-mars-whats-curiosity-been Imagine winning the World Series, the lottery and a Nobel Prize all in one day. That's pretty much how scientists and engineers in mission control at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif., felt one year ago when the 1 ton, six-wheeled rover named Curiosity landed safely on Mars.<p>Within minutes, the rover began sending pictures back to Earth. Mon, 05 Aug 2013 07:22:00 +0000 Joe Palca 25566 at http://wutc.org A Year On Mars: What's Curiosity Been Up To? If You Want A Doughnut Hole, Don't Ask A Mathematician http://wutc.org/post/if-you-want-donut-hole-dont-ask-mathematician Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>A program such as ours is timed to the exact second, and occasionally, there are small holes when our mix of news and features doesn't quite fill up our two-hour slot.<p>So NPR's Joe Palca offered to come to our rescue with some short math and sciencey hole-filling stories, stories about what else - holes.<p>JOE PALCA, BYLINE: Today, we're going to talk about doughnut holes, those round things you buy in a bakery. Thu, 25 Jul 2013 21:43:00 +0000 Joe Palca 25148 at http://wutc.org