News http://wutc.org en Junior League Of Chattanooga Announces Annual Kids In The Kitchen http://wutc.org/post/junior-league-chattanooga-announces-annual-kids-kitchen <p>From a media release:</p><h1 align="center">More Than 200 Leagues Unite to Educate Children on Importance of Eating Well and Staying Healthy as Part of Junior Leagues’ Kids in the Kitchen Activities</h1><p></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 16:42:44 +0000 Staff 36296 at http://wutc.org HES Provides Low-Cost Rabies Vaccination Clinics in April http://wutc.org/post/hes-provides-low-cost-rabies-vaccination-clinics-april <p>From a media release:</p><table align="center" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" style="width:100.0%;" width="100%"><tbody><tr><td><p align="center"><strong>HAMILTON COUNTY </strong></p><p align="center"><strong>LOW COST</strong></p><p align="center"><strong>RABIES VACCINATION CLINICS&nbsp;</strong></p><p align="center"><strong>FOR DOGS &amp; CATS </strong></p><p align="center">&nbsp;</p><p align="center"><strong>THIS MONTH!!!&nbsp;</strong></p><p align="center">&nbsp;</p><p align="center"><strong><em>click for</em></strong></p><p align="center">&nbsp;</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 16:39:01 +0000 Staff 36295 at http://wutc.org Blood Assurance Has Critical Need For O Negative Blood http://wutc.org/post/blood-assurance-has-critical-need-o-negative-blood <p></p><p><a href="http://www.bloodassurance.org/www">Blood Assurance</a> particularly needs Type O negative blood, B negative, and platelet donors.&nbsp; In this segment, Bonnie Phillips from Blood Assurance speaks with WUTC’s Virginia Daniels about the shortage, ways people can donate, and special promotions and giveaways at Blood Assurance.</p><p></p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 19:14:46 +0000 Virginia Daniels 36201 at http://wutc.org Blood Assurance Has Critical Need For O Negative Blood 'Muscle Shoals' Premieres On PBS 4/21 http://wutc.org/post/muscle-shoals-premieres-pbs-421 <p>From a media release:</p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 17:08:37 +0000 Staff 36197 at http://wutc.org Museum Center at 5ive Points Gains Smithsonian Affiliation Status http://wutc.org/post/museum-center-5ive-points-gains-smithsonian-affiliation-status <p>Cleveland's <a href="http://www.museumcenter.org/">Museum Center at 5ive Points</a> has been invited to join the Smithsonian Affiliations by the Smithsonian Institute in Washington, DC. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 17:29:58 +0000 Staff 36147 at http://wutc.org UTC Conference Addresses Youth Sports Injuries http://wutc.org/post/utc-conference-addresses-youth-sports-injuries <p>Media reports have helped raise awareness among the American public to health-related issues in sports, such as the long-term effects of concussion, the potential for catastrophic events, the disabling impact of ACL injuries, and the adequacy of existing safeguards.&nbsp;</p><p>The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga; the University of Tennessee College of Medicine, Chattanooga; Erlanger Health System, and the National Athletic Training Association host “The Sports Injury Epidemic,” a national two-day conference of vital importance to your youth.</p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 23:46:03 +0000 Staff 36068 at http://wutc.org ‘We Are a Country of Cults’: A Conversation with Jonestown Survivor Laura Kohl http://wutc.org/post/we-are-country-cults-conversation-jonestown-survivor-laura-kohl <p><a href="http://www.jonestownsurvivor.com/">Laura Johnston Kohl</a> was a member of the People's Temple in 1978 when Jim Jones led more than 900 people to commit mass suicide.&nbsp; In this extended interview, WUTC's Richard Winham speaks with Kohl about getting involved in the group, surviving the massacre, rebuilding her life afterward, and why she says the United States is a country of cults today.</p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 19:30:40 +0000 Staff 36048 at http://wutc.org ‘We Are a Country of Cults’: A Conversation with Jonestown Survivor Laura Kohl McKamey Animal Center Announces New Hours http://wutc.org/post/mckamey-animal-center-announces-new-hours <p>Adoptions:<br />Tuesdays - Saturdays 11am - 7pm<br />Sundays 1 - 5pm<br />Closed Mondays</p><p><br />Admissions:<br />Tuesdays - Saturdays 10am - 6pm<br />Closed Mondays<br />&nbsp;<br />Spay/Neuter Surgeries:<br />Wednesdays - Fridays<br />Drop off between 7:30 - 8:30am<br /><br />&nbsp;</p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 16:19:08 +0000 Staff 35825 at http://wutc.org UTC Music Department Presents “Catch the Groove” Percussion Ensemble 4/14 http://wutc.org/post/utc-music-department-presents-catch-groove-percussion-ensemble-414 <p>The UTC Music Department is pleased to present “Catch the Groove”, directed by Monte Coulter. This traditional spring concert will take place at the UTC Fine Arts Center, Roland Hayes Concert Hall, 752 Vine St., Chattanooga, on April 14, 2014 at 7:30 p.m., and will consist of some works which are totally new to the area and others which are more established in the percussion ensemble idiom. This one-night-only program is free, and the public is invited.</p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 16:14:32 +0000 Staff 35824 at http://wutc.org Apothecary Hosts UTC Student Art Show http://wutc.org/post/apothecary-hosts-utc-student-art-show <p><em><strong>Collaboration on Mapping: Space, Self, and Surrounding </strong></em>features the work of 48 first-year art students in Drawing II classes at the University of Tennessee-Chattanooga. The exhibition includes large-scale collaborative drawings created by students working in teams, as well as independent individual projects taking mapping as a central theme.</p><p>An opening reception will be held Thursday, April 17, at 6:00 p.m. at The Apothecary,&nbsp; 744 McCallie Ave., Chattanooga, TN 37403.</p><p></p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 16:11:52 +0000 Staff 35823 at http://wutc.org A Look at 'A Life,' as Chattanooga's First Major Film Festival Begins http://wutc.org/post/look-life-chattanoogas-first-major-film-festival-begins <p></p><p>The inaugural <a href="http://www.chattanoogafilmfest.com/">Chattanooga Film Festival</a> kicked off with a music documentary, <a href="http://joemeekdoc.com">"A Life in the Death of Joe Meek."</a>&nbsp; WUTC's Rachel Smith attended the film's premiere and a Q&amp;A with producer Howard S. Berger.&nbsp; In this segment, Smith explains why the film was a perfect choice for the first-ever major film festival to happen in the Scenic City.</p><p></p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 04:24:38 +0000 Michael Edward Miller 35714 at http://wutc.org A Look at 'A Life,' as Chattanooga's First Major Film Festival Begins Exhibition of Hand-Made Artists' Books Opens at Hunter Museum http://wutc.org/post/exhibition-hand-made-artists-books-opens-hunter-museum <p>An exhibition opening 3/28 at the <a href="http://www.huntermuseum.org/preface-an-introduction-to-artists-books/">Hunter Museum of American Art</a> features 12 hand-made books from artists interested in re-inventing the book. WUTC's Richard Winham talked to Ellen Simak, the curator for the exhibition, who makes books herself.&nbsp; The exhibition will be on display at the Hunter until June 14, 2014.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:24:36 +0000 Richard Winham 35434 at http://wutc.org Here Are 5 Must-See Movies at the Chattanooga Film Fest http://wutc.org/post/here-are-5-must-see-movies-chattanooga-film-fest <p>Chris Dortch, director of the first-ever <a href="http://www.chattanoogafilmfest.com/">Chattanooga Film Festival, </a>joins us to discuss a few highlights among the 50+ films being screened between April 3rd and April 6th.</p><p>Here are five must-see movies mentioned in the interview:</p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 17:56:54 +0000 Michael Edward Miller 35429 at http://wutc.org Here Are 5 Must-See Movies at the Chattanooga Film Fest 'From the Earth' Opens in April at Reflections Gallery http://wutc.org/post/earth-opens-april-reflections-gallery <p><a href="http://www.earthday.org/greencities/earth-day-2014/">Earth Day</a> is coming up in April, and <a href="http://reflectionsgallerytn.com/">Reflections Gallery</a> is celebrating with an exhibit titled <em>From the Earth</em>, which will be on display in April and May.&nbsp; In this segment, WUTC's Mark Colbert speaks with Loren Howard, a potter/sculptor participating in the exhibit.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 20:22:23 +0000 Mark Colbert 35387 at http://wutc.org BRA-VO! Fashion Show 4/6 Celebrates Life After Breast Cancer http://wutc.org/post/bra-vo-fashion-show-46-celebrates-life-after-breast-cancer <p>WUTC's Virginia Daniels speaks with Tonya Gentry about upcoming fashion show for breast cancer survivors, BRA-VO!&nbsp; All the models in the show are breast cancer survivors.</p><p>From a media release:</p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 20:05:55 +0000 Virginia Daniels 35386 at http://wutc.org